Love Wins

What a great weekend for love. On Friday, the United States Supreme Court ruled that the Constitution guarantees the right to same-sex marriage. Justice Anthony Kennedy, the swing vote, had this to say on the decision:

“No longer may this liberty be denied,” Justice Anthony M. Kennedy wrote for the majority in the historic decision. “No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than once they were.”

On Saturday, I had the privilege of witnessing this profoundly moving phenomenon as two of my best friends became husband and wife. Their union was not directly affected by the Supreme Court’s decisions as they are a heterosexual couple and the wedding was in Canada where same-sex marriage has been legal since 2004. Nevertheless, the coincidence that I was attending a wedding the day after marriage equality was achieved in my adopted home country heightened my celebration of both events. I felt overwhelmed with feelings of love and pride for my two friends as I stood next to them while they exchanged their vows. These feelings were made even sweeter by the knowledge that now my gay friends south of the border could have their love affirmed in a similarly legal way.

This weekend was a powerful reminder that love is a powerful force. And that love always wins.

Embed from Getty Images Embed from Getty Images