Adventures in Ann Arbor Book World

I had such a book-ish weekend – it was glorious. Saturday was spent browsing various local book shops including Litterati Bookstore, which is absolutely gorgeous and has great staff reviews, and Motte & Bailey, where my better half is a regular.

Sunday was spent at the Ann Arbor Antiquarian Book Fair and even though I only browsed it was lovely. Interesting things spotted at the Antiquarian Book Fair:

  • A SIGNED copy of To Kill A Mockingbird. Signed. By Harper Lee. Only $1500 USD. Oh, to be made of money.
  • A beautiful first edition copy of Pride and Prejudice. The second most expensive book that I handled at a price of $1000 USD.
  • A binder full of famous autographs. Including Elizabeth Taylor and Neil Armstrong.
  • So much Tolkien. I think nearly every book had copies of his books and yet I don’t think I saw the same cover twice.
  • I met a bookseller who spent summers on PEI and whose relative worked in costume design for Anne of Green Gables – The Musical. I was SO excited. Plus he had two books signed by The Rolling Stones’ Keith Richards which was pretty cool.
  • A copy of Love signed by Her Literary Highness Toni Morrison. It was only $75 and I was so tempted.
