The Tina and Amy Show aka The Golden Globes

I have a weakness for awards shows. I know that they are oddly political, potentially meaningless, outdated, woefully undiverse etc. All of those things bother me, they really do. And yet every year I watch The Golden Globes and The Oscars and anything else I happen upon some Sunday evening. I just can’t help it. I also love movie trivia (I have searched close to every single movie I’ve ever watched on IMDB) and have watched an inordinate amount of Inside the Actors Studio despite (or perhaps because of) my love-hate relationship with James Lipton. So while I welcome critical discussions of awards shows in general, and The Golden Globes and The Oscars in particular, I’m definitely going to be in front of my TV, with pizza and wine, watching.

Which brings me to tonight – The Golden Globes! Hosted by two of my favourite people Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. I haven’t seen many of the films contending for awards tonight (oops) but I CAN have fun watching anyway. Look for my uninformed opinions on Twitter and some equally uneducated fashion opinions on the blog.

First up: Rosamund Pike is one of the first to arrive on the red carpet and we’ll probably still be talking about her dress even after the last person arrives. It’s… not my thing? But she looks damn good regardless.

There they are! I’m not quite sure what’s up with Tina Fey’s dress but she gets a pass for simply being Tina Fey.

Helen Mirren is so fabulous it makes me angry.

Uzo Aduba looks a-ma-zing. Bonus: she has so many interesting things to say about her character on Orange is the New Black. Her Reddit AMA for instance.

Oh hell yes, Alan Cumming.

YES, Emma Stone! Rocking pants.

George Clooney and Amal Clooney. I might be the only person on Twitter who likes Amal Clooney’s gloves.

Ok, that’s enough. The actual show is about the start. Here we go!

