New Year’s Resolution

Happy New Year everyone! The title of this blog post is deceptive because I’m actually not one for making New Year’s resolutions. I have in the past and I tend to make too many and they mostly involve doomed-to-fail schemes to become basically a perfect person (e.g. get straight A’s this semester while reading a novel a week, losing weight, learning how to make pasta from scratch, and doubling my shifts at my part-time job – I’m not kidding, that was my plan one year.) Also, January has never felt like the appropriate time to celebrate a new year. Maybe it’s the perpetual student in me but I always felt that September marked the beginning of a new year.

While I’ll refrain from making any ambitious resolutions this year, I have decided to set a reading challenge for myself using GoodReads. I joined GoodReads last year as part of a post-graduate school plan to get back into reading. I’m not as intense as some users, I just sort books into “read” and “to-read” categories and sometimes write reviews. I have found tracking my reading to me enlightening though. Over the past few months, I made a conscious effort to read more (one of the first things I did when I moved to Ann Arbor was obtain a library card and I’ve been a faithful patron since) and yet I found that I didn’t read nearly as much as I thought. In 2014, I read just 27 books. For 2015, I have set a goal of reading 40 books. Hopefully I stay on track and make a dent in my giant TBR pile.

So there it is – my non-resolution New Year’s resolution to read more (and blog more, and eat healthier, and decorate the apartment – damn it! There I go again!) Cheers to 2015.

