Fan-Girl Moment featuring Cheryl Strayed

This morning’s fan-girl moment brought to you by social media! Say what you will about the evils of the Internet-age, I think it’s especially cool that technology can bring us mere peasants closer to those we admire.

CBC Books hosted a Twitter chat with author Cheryl Strayed who is promoting the movie “Wild” which is based on her memoir. Cheryl (we’re on a first name basis now because she responded to my Tweet) answered not one but TWO of my questions.

I know, I know. Could I not think of a better question? But honestly, I REALLY wanted to know the answer. I read Terry Tempest Williams’ When Women Were Birds a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with it. The prose and subject matter reminded me a lot of my new gal pal Cheryl’s work so I was very curious.

Yeah, I got greedy and asked a second question. Not a very original question but like the first one, something I genuinely wanted to know the answer to. I’m the kind of person that loves behind-the-scenes stuff and that includes understanding an author’s writing process.

Kudos to CBC Books and my BFF Cheryl for including fan interaction as part of the film promotional junket. It was a great way to start the day.

Update: December 5, 2014

And then Terry Tempest Williams included me in a Tweet with Cheryl and I died a little of happiness inside.

For those unaware, here are links to each author’s works. Cheryl Strayed. Terry Tempest Williams. For the record, I have no affiliation to either (aside from my completely non-creepy delusions of friendship via Twitter).

